Home Hotel Contact Shop Vacancies Concerts Dots Search Newsletter Skip to main content

Emirates Old Trafford to host 2020 Lancashire Knockout Cup Final

Emirates Old Trafford to host 2020 Lancashire Knockout Cup Final

Showpiece final to return to Lancashire Cricket for the first time since 2017

Lancashire Cricket is delighted to announce that the 2020 Lancashire Knockout Cup Final, sponsored by Heineken, will return to Emirates Old Trafford for the first time since 2017. 

The final is the showpiece fixture for amateur clubs in Lancashire and will be held at the home of Lancashire Cricket on Sunday 30 August 2020

Major work on the Emirates Old Trafford outfield in 2018, followed by the hosting of six ICC Cricket World Cup fixtures and an Ashes Test in 2019, meant that the final was moved to club grounds in Ormskirk and Heywood. 

The 60-team tournament that clubs from the county have been competing for across the last 48 years, is currently held by Norden following their victory over 2018 winners Darwen in September. 

The First Round Draw for the 2020 edition took place in November and Norden will begin their quest to defend the trophy with a home tie against Farnworth. 

Darwen will take on Bawali Shreef of the Greater Manchester Cricket League and Fleetwood will travel to nine-time winners Blackpool for a Fylde-coast Derby, while Leyland host Ormskirk in another big opening round clash.

View the 2020 First Round Draw

Warren Hegg, Head of Cricket Business for Lancashire Cricket, said: "This competition is the pinnacle for all club cricketers in our county and we are delighted to welcome the final back to Emirates Old Trafford in 2020. 

"To be part of the team that beats the best of the best and is awarded the trophy is every club player's dream and to have the opportunity to do that on the Emirates Old Trafford pitch is really special. 

"Hosting the final gives us the chance to make it an even greater spectacle going forward and we are already looking forward to this showpiece event next August."

Key dates 2020:

  • First Round: Sunday 24 May
  • Second Round: Sunday 14 June
  • Quarter-Final: Sunday 5 July
  • Semi-Final: Sunday 19 July
  • Final: Sunday 30 August
Search the site